Tis the Season… for Peanuts

As I post this I am sitting in a dinner waiting for a link sausage biscuit. Mmmmm Sausage… I always look forward to this time of year, not so much for Christmas, but because I get to work at Bertie County Peanuts.  As you may know my primary job is at an academic library. But after exams, once the students have gone for the semester I take my vacation and go work for peanuts. OK, I don’t actually work FOR peanuts… well… you get what I mean. They pay me. With money. Actually, they give me a piece of paper that I then take to the bank and trade for money. You know, money is weird. What was I talking about? Oh yeah, peanuts.

I love it there. I get a chance to get out of the office for a couple of days and get dirty and stretch my legs and make a couple of extra dollar. Did I mention the peanuts? I like peanuts. My job is packaging and shipping. Customers place an order either on the phone web or in store. That order gets printed up on an order slip and goes to us. We are the “elves”. We work in the warehouse and take those order slips and make the magic happen. We go through the warehouse to find the desired items, Put the desired items in a Bertie County Peanuts box. Weigh the box go into the Fed Ex system and, using the order number, locate the address add the weight print the label and firmly secure the label to the box with many layers of packaging tape. And if we’ve done our jobs right then in 3 to 4 days your peanuts will be delivered to your door step.

Bertie County Peanuts is located in Windsor North Carolina in Bertie County… go figure. Windsor is more or less my hometown and I don’t get over here near as much as I used to. It’s bigger than Murfreesboro but it feels much smaller. I miss it. So for a couple of weeks a year I get to see old friends visit local restaurants and eat some great food. It’s only an hour away but it feels like another world. A simpler world, a happier world.

So here I am in the same restaurant I visited as a child, it has changed in appearance drastically but the food is as good as it always was. And it looks like my biscuit is here! This is where I leave you for now. Have a great day! And eat some Peanuts!

Metkaf

Leave a Reply

