Writing is Hard.

I’ve spent some time trying to piece together some of the details of my story and it isn’t going so well. Everything feels forced and I don’t think it should be that way. I know writing isn’t easy but this is starting to feel like I’m trying to tell a story that just isn’t there. I think I may just stop with that story line and just start writing to see where that takes me. I’ve never really had much luck with the free write method in the past… but maybe I should give it more time and maybe something will start to make sense.

I’ve done the math and it doesn’t look good. If I want to reach my 50,000 word goal by the end of November then I’m going to have to type approximately 2,200 words a day, assuming I write every day. And looking at my calendar I already know that I won’t be able to do that, not for any substantial amount of time anyway. Writing is hard. OK, writing isn’t hard, writing WELL is hard. But I still haven’t given up completely. If I can knock out 5,000 words tomorrow during my freewriting session then there is still hope.

If my freewriting leads me down another dead end then I may just give up for this November.

Currently listening to Dark Side of the Moon.

Leave a Reply

